All Posts · Dear Diary/Life

Life in Red

Emotions fanning from intense love, intense frustration, intense jealousy, confusion, all of that in my mind… all those emotions are red. There’s nothing beige about those feelings..

Image

“Touching him was like realizing all that you ever wanted was right there in front of you.

Forgetting him is like trying to know somebody you’ve never met.

I still see it all in my head…. in burning red.”

If you had to give the color red meaning, what would it signify to you? What about blue, green, orange, or purple? The beauty of color is that is can be associated to our emotions, our memories, and our inner most thoughts.

Much like the artists who wrote these lyrics, I feel that the color red represents many of the things we encounter in our relationships, and can be a reflection of our character and personalities. Deep reds and intense reds are wise and courageous. Faded reds and light reds are sweet and feminine. Maroon is thoughtful. With crimson, there is sensuality. Burgundy carries sophistication. Scarlet is defiant, rich, and bright. Cherry is always fun-loving.

The list goes on. We all encounter the color on a daily basis. Walking past a garden of roses, enjoying strawberries in the heat of summer, or applying our favorite red lipstick. I think that colors often evoke emotions and memories from the past we didn’t even realize we still hung onto. Just the other day, I came upon a sparkling aqua that instantly reminded me of the color of a jewelry box my older sister kept on her dresser for many years in the house we grew up in. It is for reasons like this we embrace things that are colorful – they leave an impression on us.

I have experienced the good, the bad, and the ugly of all that “red” is. I have experienced its passion in my sexual life, I have felt it in love, and in anger. I have been consumed by the guilt of red, and the great joy it can bring. It has made me intensely jealous. Wearing the color red has made me feel sexy, mature, and feminine. It has often been sweet to me, unfair, confusing, mysterious, & magical.

It is all of these things, and more. The spectrum is wide, but you can define each shade almost perfectly. The dramas of this color are the ups and the downs we deal with every day. It is our own personal work of art -we throw all of the shades onto a canvas, hoping to make sense of it all when we’ve finished…. I’m still painting mine.

Live your life in red.

xoxo

-Bridget

5 thoughts on “Life in Red

Leave your comments here :)

