All Posts · Fashion/Film

“To wish was to hope, and to hope was to expect”

I’ve decided to dedicate my post today to one of my favorite movies of all time, Sense and Sensibility. Ever since I was a young girl, I loved everything about this film… the setting, the clothing, the storyline, the romance. I enjoyed the relationship between the two Dashwood sisters and compared it to the relationship my sister and I had. I fell for the charming and handsome Willoughby, and when Marianne wept over him, I wept, too. Many of my favorite quotes come from this novel, written by Jane Austen. I feel that they have always particularly spoke to me. I found that I understood what Austen was communicating to her readers, even though I was so young and knew nothing about love and such grown-up topics. I will forever adore these characters and this classic story of true love, heartbreak, and the beauty of living life in the present,  and recognizing that what is best for you may have been there all along.

ImageImage

“The more I know of the world, the more I am convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!”

 

“If I could know but his heart, everything would become easy.”

Image

“I think him every thing that is worthy and amiable.”

ImageImage

“It is not time or opportunity that is to determine intimacy;—it is disposition alone. Seven years would be insufficient to make some people acquainted with each other, and seven days are more than enough for others.”

 

Image

“The longer they were together the more doubtful seemed the nature of his regard, and sometimes for a few painful minutes she believed it to be no more than friendship”

“Shyness is only the effect of a sense of inferiority in some way or other.”

 

ImageImage

Marianne looking over the hill onto Willoughby’s mansion, feeling the loss of his character yet more heavily than she had felt the loss of his heart.

Imagebrandon

“I come here with no expectations, only to profess, now that I am at liberty to do so, that my heart is and always will be.. yours.”

And what became of Willoughby? He watched the wedding ceremony of Marianne from atop the hill, and appeared to be deep in thought. Perhaps he regrets the decision he made, wishing he had not broken her heart, and wondered what could have been. But instead, he simply turned around and rode off into the distance, back to the world he came from. He would never know.

ImageImage

 

 

Leave your comments here :)

