All Posts

5 Reasons Why Someone Isn’t Out Of Your League (And Why Leagues Don’t Exist)

“Yeah, you were out of my league, got my heartbeat racing…” ❤

Thought Catalog

Last Thursday night, I gave some great drunk advice: “Just text her, she’s not out of your league — because there is no such thing as leagues”.

You see, up until about a year ago, I believed leagues existed. At first, I thought people who were ridiculously attractive were out of my league. You’d think once I realized not everything is about looks, my thoughts wouldn’t be as shallow. But it wasn’t that clear. I believed that if someone was smarter than me, or funnier than me, they too were out of my league. Needless to say, I was wrong.

The problem with using the term ‘league’ in this context is that the word implies that there is a set of recognized standards. Unlike what most people think, our standards are not completely outlined by society. I would by lying if I said the media doesn’t impact our standards, because it…

View original post 927 more words

Leave your comments here :)

